an introduction of yours truly

Born in raised in the conservative state of South Dakota, the largest Catholic Parish in Sioux Falls, and an extremely republican household, one would wonder how I turned out to be a liberal, feminist, social work student with a minor in LGBT/sexuality studies. I tribute my whole-hearted mind set and values to my best friend who I’m convinced has the purest heart out there, my tough as hell mother, my sensitive father, and my two beautiful and intelligent sisters. These individual’s have been my guardian angels whom I owe my very privileged life to. When people have adequate support, it’s amazing how far someone can go without throwing in the towel.

My name is Emily Watkins (she/her/her’s) and I have never blogged before but I am excited to give it a shot. I am beyond ecstatic to be in my last semester of my college career so I decided to take a class that really peaked my interest, would be fun, and fulfilled on of my minor requirements. QUEER FILM. I love all things queer and I can quote just about every movie out there so what could be better than a class about queer film? An Alaskan cruise I suppose but I can’t exactly afford that at the moment.

Not only do I wear the hats of being a student, sister, daughter, and friend, but I also am the mommy to a three year old pit-bull, Annie. She is goofy, chubby, and full of love. Oh and did I mention I am engaged to her sexy, hard-working, intelligent father? I am so proud to say I am engaged to Will Smith and no he did not star in the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.

Even though I am in a heteronormative partnership for life, I do identify as pansexual. For those of you new to the term, pansexual means one is sexually attracted to more than three genders. So really to me, I don’t give a shit what gender you are. I fall in love with someone’s mind and heart and that’s what happened with me and my sweet William.

I got my first taste of queer life from television. If you’re someone who is like “oh I don’t watch TV”or “it rots your brain,” you can piss off because I could sit my butt on a couch for hours watching TV/movies and be perfectly content with my life. I remember flipping through the channels one night, I probably wasn’t older than 10, when I came across the movie Wild Things (1998) starring Neve Campbell and Denise Richards. They have this incredible love scene in a pool and I was in awe. It didn’t seem unusual to me and I couldn’t get enough. I thought to myself “what else is out there?” because sexual happenings that were outside of heteronormativity really stuck with me. Ever since then growing up, I would sneak watching late night TV in hopes to get more glimpses of non-normative sex.

Related image

Wild Things (1998) Pool Scene

 

When I sit and think about what my favorite queer movie is, I am stumped because I have
Image result for princess brideso movies that I’ve seen, love, and cherish. But if I had to pick just one, I would pick The Princess Bride (1987). And if you’re like “oh that’s not a queer film, it’s about a love story between a man and a woman.” I would reply with LIES! It’s totally a queer film and if you don’t believe me, go back and re-watch. You’ll see what I’m talking about. You can’t tell me that Fezzik and Inigo aren’t in love with each other. The way they look at each other speaks a thousand words and it’s absolutely beautiful. It goes beyond friendship.

 

The movie is bizarre, hilarious, passionate, and QUEER.

Image result for princess bride meme

 

4 thoughts on “an introduction of yours truly

  1. ericksonmurphy8gmail says:

    Hi Emily! It is very nice to meet you! And let me just say I really like the way your blog is set up. It is very clean and catching to the eye. I find it very cool that you are from South Dakota. I am from Alliance, Nebraska ( a really small town) so when my friends and I needed something to do on the weekend we would always head up to Rapid City, South Dakota. It really is lovely there. That’s very exciting that this is your last semester! I will be graduating the fall of 2017, so I feel your excitement. I got really excited when I read that you were engaged to Will Smith because the first thought that came to mind is the actor, haha! I LOVE Pit bulls. I actually love any type of animal! I work at a vet so I do see a lot of Pit bulls come in. I like to call them the gentle giant. You should bring her to class sometime if its okay with Mrs. Kennedy, that would be great! I am sure Annie would love to learn about LGBT. I will have to check out some of the movies you listed above. They seem very interesting! Thanks for writing such an interesting blog. You doing great for being new in the blogging world! See you in class, but really, ask if you can bring Annie to class. Just say she has a cold or something and needs to be supervised for the whole entire day 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. emills6 says:

    Hi Emily. I love that you picked a queer film that wasn’t explicitly queer, that, like you said, is a love story between a man and a woman. A lot of the queer media I’ve enjoyed the most has been subtextually queer media. Movies and tv shows that have never been brave enough, or never been able to be expressed explicitly, have merit as queer media. Thanks for sharing your story and your thoughts, I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

